When I was pregnant with Ella I took an infant/child CPR course thru one of our hospitals.  That was over 3 years ago.  I knew I was due for a refresher course but just couldn’t find the time to take the class, it’d been lingering on my to-do list for a while.  I’m so angry with myself that I put it off because this past Sunday, those skills would have come in handy.

We’d just gotten home from my mother-in-law’s birthday party.  We weren’t home more than 10 seconds and all of a sudden I hear Ella make a tiny mouse-like shriek.  I run over thinking one of our dogs nipped her and realized after she was pawing at her mouth that she was choking…on a marble.  She’s not crying, not breathing and I pick her up, try to give her the Heimlich maneuver and as hard as I tried, the marble wouldn’t come out.  I pass her to Jeff and start going towards the phone to dial 911 when I hear the marble hit the floor and Ella start to cry.

Thank God that marble came out.  It felt like an eternity.  I wasn’t able to get it out and still replay in my head what, if anything, I did wrong.  I had two questions I’m still asking myself: 1) What if Jeff hadn’t been home and I couldn’t get the marble out and, 2) Why in the world did I put off my refresher CPR course?

So, here is my PSA…please don’t wait until an emergency occurs to realize you need to take your refresher CPR course.  Check out your local hospitals and take your course NOW!  You’ll find me at Presbyterian Hospital taking mine in a few weeks.

