I sing about as well as I dance.  That is, not well.  But I do it!  Now that I’m a mom, I’m finding myself singing a whole lot more… and shockingly, my daughter LOVES to hear me sing.  So that’s one person!  Here’s the thing, I don’t know that many songs off the top of my head.  I can sing along when it is playing, but I can’t just think of that many songs that I know all the [correct] words to.  So I make them up.  Not to brag or anything, but I’m really damn good at making up songs on the fly.  The Wiggles should be calling any minute now with my new contract.

My proudest moment (the tune is original):

Here we go to school.  Here we go to school. Gonna learn some stuff that’s really really cool.  Gonna play all day.  Gonna play all day.  Gonna laugh and talk and see and play all day today!

How great is that song?!  I know.  You don’t have to tell me.  It is great.  I mean, laugh and talk AND see.  That’s great songwriting right there.

And another (to the tune of I Had a Little Dreidel)

I had a little baby.  I made her out of sperm.  And when she’s good and ready.  Out of… you know what, I don’t really know you well enough to finish that song.

My husband makes up songs too, but his songs… well, they’re lacking in the awesomeness department.  One of his go-to songs (to the tune of I’ve Been Working on the Railroad):

I’ve been working on the chubby.  All the chubs and chubs.  Chubby chubby chubby bubby. Chubs and chubs and chubs.

Amateur.

I know we’re not the only parents-turned-songwriters here.  (I might be the best one, though… just saying.  Go back and read my going to school song.)  Share your best efforts in the comments or on our Facebook page.

