My favorite part about the end of the year is the Top 10 [Fill in the Blank] of 2011.  I don’t know why, but I love it.  So I thought I’d do a little Top 10 list of my own.

Top 10 Things My Baby Taught me in 2011

10. Lots of snots means lots of pukes. That may not be true for adults, but it is true for babies… apparently.

9. So you got a little shmutz on your shirt?  Who cares!  Move on.  It might stain, but whatever.  You’ll get new clothes in about 3 months anyway.

Darby8. Lights are awesome.  Take the time to stop and look at lights more.  It is so worth it.

7. Ditto on shadows.  Amazing.

6. When you’re covered in puke, you’ve got snot smeared from your mouth to your eyes and a dirty diaper to boot… smile.  That’s the only thing that will make it better.  (Well, that and a bath.)

5. Value your ability to do little things like blow your own nose.  Don’t take those skills for granted.

4. If you’re happy and you know it, shout “HOORAY!”  And your face will surely show it.

3. People like you if you’re nice to them. Smile. Laugh. Smile again. People will like you more.

2. Don’t hold a grudge.  Be mad, but then smile like 3 seconds later.  Life’s more fun that way.

1. Sometimes you get shit on. Get over it. It will happen again.

